FORUMS FORUM RSSrss icon

Ovarian Cysts

Forum Jump

View Unanswered Threads
secondhand_roseuk
Send message
REPLY QUOTE Posted :
Subject: Ovarian Cysts
Has anyone out there been diagnosed with an ovarian cyst. I recently have. I have been told it will need to be removed, but not sure what to expect. Any info will be greatly appreciated.

dilydaydream
Send message
REPLY QUOTE Posted :
Subject: Re: Ovarian Cysts
Quoted:
Has anyone out there been diagnosed with an ovarian cyst. I recently have. I have been told it will need to be removed, but not sure what to expect. Any info will be greatly appreciated.
Posted by secondhand rose

Hiya - well unfortunately I am an expert on the subject of ovarian cysts. I have had 8 ops to remove them the last 20 years!

First of all dont worry. There are several options to ask your doctor. First of all do you know how big the cyst is? If its small enough they may decide to aspirate it (burst it) via your vagina. If its bigger and impacting on other organs in the pelvic area they may operate usually they do keyhole surgery which is relatively straightforward and needs minimal recovery time. Also the scarring is minimal. However if the cyst is large and/or you have complicated medical history they will do the operation as in a major abdominal operation. This is obviously more traumatic on your body. The recovery time can be a few months. You will need to take at least a month off work with this option and you will need to listen to the advise given for the recovery. No wonderwoman antics! If you are scared or need more info contact me again.... As I said I have had 8 ops and sad to say at 37 the only thing I excel in is creating ovarian cysts. Currently have 7 on my remaining ovary!
secondhand_roseuk
Send message
REPLY QUOTE Posted :